Posted by: wierc1 | December 14, 2009

Very Last Class…

I am going to make a smart board for my house.  I will have to clear a wall to have room to project, but if all I need is a Wii remote and a few parts from the hardware store, it’s almost too easy to set up.  To justify it, I would have to do a little work and figure out what technologies I could use with the inexpensive “Smartboard,” and make sure that they would actually enhance the lessons.  But it would at least make me feel like I was doing something creative to expand the resources available to my students.  The idea is enough to make me want a classroom without a Smartboard, especially if I can’t use the a large portion of my board space with one.

How would school authorities react to such experimentation?  I would hope that principals and other administrators would be supportive of such efforts, but after reading Herbert Kohl in Adolescent Developement, I can see potential problems.  Do you ask permission, or beg forgiveness?  I suppose I incline towards the latter…


Leave a comment

Categories